How do you know?

How can you tell if you know someone or you know about someone?

Is it a time thing?

They say if a friendship survives after several years it will last a lifetime, so are we just meant to let time pass and then we can celebrate knowing someone?

I’ve known myself for the best part of 23 years and I still feel like I don’t know myself, and I feel like I would not be alone in saying that. So how do you get to actually know someone, deep-down, what makes them tick? Is it a series of “tell me something about yourself”? Or are we able to get to know someone intimately within a matter of months?

Time for an experiment … I’m going to answer these questions by Thought Catalog deemed to really get you to know someone and then you tell me what you think.

1. What’s your philosophy in life?

My basic belief is just keep swimming. Just keep moving, stand still for too long and there will be a disaster

2. What’s the one thing you would like to change about yourself?

Oh you’ll get to see how vain I am in this one 😉 … I would change my weight

3. Are you religious or spiritual?

I don’t consider myself religious or spiritual.

4. Do you consider yourself an introvert or an extrovert?

I’m completely 50/50 … I can turn up the extrovert when I need to, but there are times when I’m a total introvert.

5. Which parent are you closer to and why?

I’m closer to my mum, I never thought I’d say that but my dad doesn’t really talk, if you left us together there would be a comfortable silence. Whereas mother dearest makes me talk about things.

6. What was the best phase in your life?

I’m still living my best phase, having children has completely changed my world.

7. What was the worst phase in your life?

Treating a genuinely amazing person absolutely terribly, I was working a lot of things out but no one deserves to be treated that way. I will always be disappointed in myself when I look back at that.

8. Is what you’re doing now what you always wanted to do growing up?

Not at all! I wanted to be a medical examiner, but I do like my current line of work 🙂

9. What makes you feel accomplished?

Having ticked things off my list! Going to the gym having cleaned and cooked and then I can relax!

10. What’s your favorite book/movie of all time and why did it speak to you so much?

11. What is a relationship deal breaker for you?

Sex, lack of it.

12. Are you more into looks or brains?

This is tough, looks need to be there in the first place to make me interested enough to value the brains in the long run?

13. Would you ever take back someone who cheated?

Nope, I couldn’t live with it. I’m extremely jealous over little things.

14. How do you feel about sharing your password with your partner?

They can have every social media password they like – they might learn something interesting!

15. When do you think a person is ready for marriage?

I don’t think anyone is ever truly ready for marriage.

16. What kind of parent do you think you will be?

Amazingly, I’m the parent I thought I would be so far. I think that will change as my girls get older, I think I’m going to be strict and a total hard ass about the important things like school and work etc but hopefully relaxed about the rest of it.

17. What would you do if your parents didn’t like your partner?

If there’s a genuine reason they dislike my partner I would need to deal with that but otherwise I’m the person who has to be with them so my opinion is the most important

18. Who is that one person you can talk to about just anything?

She knows who she is.

19. Do you usually stay friends with your exes?

Generally, and perhaps not friends, but definitely civil and polite 🙂 I’ve always lived in a small town so it’s kind of important.

20. Have you ever lost someone close to you?

My brother.

21. If you are in a bad mood, do you prefer to be left alone or have someone to cheer you up?

I like to be cheered up, not that I’ll ever admit I want to be cheered up!

22. What’s an ideal weekend for you?

Go out Friday night, drink and dance have a sleep in Saturday and lots of naps and watching movies and then a Sunday morning walk and prepare for the week ahead!

23. What do you think of best friends of the opposite sex?

I think it’s doable and I think it can be done without romantic emotions!

24. Do you judge a book by its cover?

Definitely, although I shouldn’t and it’s something I’m working towards.

25. Are you confrontational?

With people close to me, not at all. With average joe over there – all the time!

26. When was the last time you broke someone’s heart?

Probably 2 years ago

27. Would you relocate for love?

Definitely!

28. Did you ever write a journal?

Yep all through high school!

29. What are you most thankful for?

The luck I’ve had in life!

30. Do you believe in second chances?

I do, if they are earned…

31. What’s the one thing that people always misunderstand about you?

My tone, I find I’m very blunt sometimes and I don’t mean to be that’s just how I say things.

32. What is your idea of a perfect vacation?

Semi active, semi relax! I want to go bike riding or hiking and have sleep ins and lay by the pool

33. What did your past relationship teach you?

It taught me that I need to value what I have while I have it, not once it’s gone.

34. What are your thoughts on online dating or tinder?

No one that uses those things are mentally stable …. including myself 🙂

35. What’s on your bucket list this year?

Survive!

36. When have you felt your biggest adrenaline rush?

When I made the decision to continue with my pregnancy even though we had only been together for 3 months…

37. What is the craziest thing you’ve ever done and would you do it again?

Jump out of a plane and having children, I’ll jump out of a plane again 😀

38. If a genie granted you 3 wishes right now, what would you wish for?

– to be able to eat whatever and how ever much and never be able to gain weight

– 78 million dollars

– an amazing nanny

39. What’s your biggest regret in life?

Having children without being in a steady relationship, I wouldn’t trade them for the world though.

40. What do you think about when you’re by yourself?

My old life

….Do you feel like you know me now? Do you feel a connection with me?

There’s someone I now have to go and grill with these questions to see if I can feel a connection with them.

Leave a comment